Go Back   CanPhoto Forums - Professional Canadian Photography Discussions > Canphoto Community Forums > The CanPhoto Lounge

Reply
 
Thread Tools

Old May 31/12, 05:49 PM   #1
Peter Wm. Richardson
Senior Member
 
Peter Wm. Richardson
North of Orangeville ON
 
Last Online: May 10/13
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 576
Escrow Shipping Companies

Does anyone have any first hand knowledge of an escrow shipper out of the UK called B.D.E.S. Delivery?
Thanks,
Peter
Peter Wm. Richardson
Photojournalist
peterw@journalist.com
Peter Wm. Richardson is offline   Reply With Quote

Old May 31/12, 09:59 PM   #2
Alastair
Senior Member
 
Alastair Bird
Vancouver
 
Last Online: Yesterday
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 499
Nope. I've never heard of them, but then I've never taken it upon myself to have an escrow company involved. If I were buying anything of any value from the UK, I would be really careful about whether or not the person who was selling me the gear (or buying it) was legit. PayPal, (I hate to say it) does get good results if you use tracking and send it to a verified address.

But the last time I bought something from the UK it was a Hasselblad camera, and it wasn't worth too much (about $1500) The fellow I purchased it from was referred to me by a friend, and I just sent him a draft for the $$. Previous to that, however, we had several email exchanges and everything seemed legit.

I would be very concerned about any kind of escrow company - if whatever you're buying is worth that much then it's either worth jumping on the plane to take a look at it in person or it's worth having a friend in the UK go and check it out. Where is whatever or whoever you're buying from? I'm sure that someone on this board must knows someone in the UK who would be willing to do the transaction in person for a decent bottle of whisky.

Ahem. Google: Craigslist tells all

I'm going to say right now, Peter. Don't trust them at all. Just sayin'
Alastair is offline   Reply With Quote

Old Jun 1/12, 03:49 PM   #3
Peter Wm. Richardson
Senior Member
 
Peter Wm. Richardson
North of Orangeville ON
 
Last Online: May 10/13
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 576
Hi Alastair:
The UK connection is no problem, I have both friends and family in the UK, I was just interested in the company itself. Using escrow companies is no real problem, provided everything is well planned out and they are legit, I've just never heard of this one before and they claim to be the largest in the world. These scams are common, I just ran into another one from Arkansas concerning Akita dogs, which I am trying to purchase. What intrigues me is that B.D.E.S. has a very elaborate web site which seems like a lot of work and expense, to back up a scam. Needless to say I am not sending them money or information until I am convinced this is real.
I have a friend in London who is going to try and find their offices.
Cheers and thanks for the advice!
Peter
Peter Wm. Richardson
Photojournalist
peterw@journalist.com
Peter Wm. Richardson is offline   Reply With Quote

Old Jun 3/12, 10:35 AM   #4
Alastair
Senior Member
 
Alastair Bird
Vancouver
 
Last Online: Yesterday
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 499
I just took a look at their site - looks alarmingly legit, except that the URL is vadimprimer.cowhosting.net rather than anything to do with BDES or any other kind of corporate URL. 7 Harley St does actually exist (although it looks nothing like the photograph that accompanies the address on their page)

My guess is that if it is a scam someone is using the good name of B.D.E.S. without them even knowing. You send your information to an address like info@BDES.com or whatever the person selling you the item tells you to do, and you dutifully send the $$, even though BDES has no idea you're sending money to them. Then the cash is gone, and when you call BDES to complain they have (understandably) no idea what you're talking about.

Interesting - I wonder how this plays out.

One could take a look here, I suppose: 419 Eater
Alastair is offline   Reply With Quote

Old Jun 3/12, 10:38 AM   #5
Alastair
Senior Member
 
Alastair Bird
Vancouver
 
Last Online: Yesterday
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 499
Have you offered to meet them with cash? Last time I did that the guy who was selling an M9 for $2500 just kinda disappeared.
Alastair is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

Old Jun 4/12, 04:01 PM   #6
Peter Wm. Richardson
Senior Member
 
Peter Wm. Richardson
North of Orangeville ON
 
Last Online: May 10/13
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 576
Hi Alastair:
Everything from your previous post fits perfectly with my thoughts. As for meeting them, I went one better, I offered to have my uncle(long ago deceased,he was a great uncle actually) who was a DS with Scotland Yard ring them up and drop around to evaluate the goods. Poof, gone like a snowflake in hell. You know the adage, if it looks too good to be true,it probably is.
I saw a similar deal for a collectors edition NITB olive drab M8, for $1,500.00. I wonder if it was also your guy?
Cheers,
Peter
Peter Wm. Richardson
Photojournalist
peterw@journalist.com
Peter Wm. Richardson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Leasing companies in Toronto andrewr The CanPhoto Lounge 2 Apr 12/05 11:44 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.